Necessary But Not Sufficient

All of us:

Coping strategies and techniques are resources.  The more you learn, the more help you can access.  Therapy, programs, medicine, etc. are resources. Asking for help widens your support system; another way to find potential resources.

Angora:

Meeting basic needs is a resource.  Taking care of physical, emotional, and spiritual health is a resource.  Practicing basic hygiene is a resource.  Discovering and implementing ways to feel safe are resources.

Sunni:

Human characteristics like resilience, courage, intelligence, creativity, persistence, flexibility, acceptance, tolerance, and respect are resources.

All of us:

One is not enough.  How many is enough?  Is there such a thing as too much?

Dawn-to-Dusk & Breezy:

My therapist says that one resource is not a cure-all.  It takes practice and use of many resources to create a solution.  Many times when we reach a wall in therapy, it is because a new aspect of my trauma history has been revealed.  We brainstorm together and separately.  She asks her resources, and I research information.

Sienna:

And when I get frustrated, she reminds me that one resource or many resources, it does not matter.  The more knowledge you have, the better your chances of finding a solution.  What I know, everything I have learned so far is necessary but not sufficient.

Blue, Purple, & Silence:

I like to draw and play in the quiet room.  I like to run and help the adults with protection.  I like to use the catapults and the bubbles.

All of us:

No one individual or resource has all of the answers.  Change is inevitable so we have to adapt to them in order to move on.  Sometimes that is easy.  Most of the time, it sucks.  We tried going it alone for a while.  And we tried having a support network and resources to help when we stumble.  Guess which option worked better?

It has taken a long time for all of us to accept this.  Asking for help is scary.  Accepting help is scarier.  Trusting someone else with inner thoughts and safety is probably scariest.  It took me eleven years to get where I am now.  Some of my parts are in the same place.  Others are not.

And we are nowhere near finished with the recovery journey.

Questions for Readers:

How long will it take you?  Are you willing to persist in spite of the road blocks and relapses?  Will you keep an open mind?  Will you learn to trust yourself one day?

I hope the answers are yes someday, if not now.

