Bad news is supposed to happen in 3s

First someone I am close to gets sick and is in the hospital around Thanksgiving.  Obviously bad news.

Second I make contact with family members who might or might not be safe.  Not sure if this is considered bad news.

Last Thursday I found out that a friend/mentor/co-worker I’ve known for about 10 years died.  He had cancer and fought bravely for quite a few years.  Obviously bad news.

Holidays bring memories and mixed feelings

My anxiety is much worse than normal.  I’m remembering events and activities that happened around the holidays (at parties and events, at home, at church/synagogue, at school) that were buried for decades.

My body is healing and starting to look like it’s meant to look.  This is causing feelings of negative body image, self-consciousness, and fear.

I sent out holiday cards and have received some.  Two cousins sent a gift that made me feel so happy that I got scared.  I bought groceries to cook in the community kitchen; want to feel good and cook something.

Coping Challenges

Grief – brings out tears and feelings of sadness that trigger past feelings and similar situations.  I felt numb; then started crying.  But while I felt numb, I couldn’t stop sneezing.

Negative body feelings – I am so tired.  I am getting cravings to eat and drink stuff that makes me feel kind of sick and can’t avoid all of them.  My body alternately feels good and in pain.  And I am having trouble accepting my “real” body shape.

Hope – that maybe this year I won’t sleep through Christmas

Fear – that I probably will do that

Self-Care – because I am falling behind on some chores and goals with being so tired and sleeping a lot.

Strategy or Strategies?

Gratitude – because I feel so grateful for the typical and also unexpected blessings that have come my way this season

Allowing my feelings to flow through me – express, acknowledge, accept, let go of what I feel so they don’t get stuck inside and cause problems (I hope)

Present-focused attitude – to help me stay grounded and focused on my current tasks

Self-Care – because everyone deserves to be safe and healthy

Starting small – small chunks are easier to finish than large bites.  And small accomplishments add up with less frustration

So how are you going to prepare for the holidays?

Thanks for reading…

